Book Tags
October 16th, 2016

The Goodreads Tag!

So the Goodreads tag is a super old tag that has been around for years. But this week I reached my Goodreads book challenge target for 2016! I’ve never actually reached my target before, let alone a few months early! So to celebrate I thought I’d do my first book tag…

What was the last book you marked as read?

Bridget Jones' Baby

So this seems to be book ‘2.5’ in the series – set between the second book and the last book, ‘Mad About the Boy’. Whatever, I love Bridget and would probably love any Bridget-related book. This was the perfect read for me at the moment because it was so easy to read and very short.

What are you currently reading?

atomic weight of love
I’ve just started reading The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church which is my last book for review this month, and which I am super excited about. Continue Reading

Reading Tips
October 10th, 2016

How to get over a reading slump

reading slump

Over the last few weeks, the dreading ‘reading slump’ happened to me. Having taken a couple of months off working due to family reasons, I managed to get through 20+ books in that time. Then a few weeks ago I started a new job and started studying part-time and boof… any motivation I had to read disappeared.

As any book lover knows, going through a reading slump is painful. There’s nothing better after a hard day than cuddling up with a good book. So when tiredness mixed with having other responsibilities means you just stop reading altogether, it really sucks!

Here’s how I’m managing to get out of my reading slump: Continue Reading

Competitions, Guest Blogging
October 9th, 2016

Guest post and Competition!

I’ve written a guest post over at Arctic Books about my favourite Booktubers, thanks to the lovely Alice. I’m also giving away a copy of A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas – open internationally! GO GO GO!

Read my blog post and enter my competition here.

Reviews
September 30th, 2016

REVIEW – The Illuminati by Robert Howells

illuminati

Sometimes there’s nothing better to read than a new Illuminati and conspiracy-related book!

Synopsis from Goodreads:

This book demonstrates that the old secret societies were driven by the same impulse as Anonymous and WikiLeaks are today. These marginalized groups have always rebelled against the establishments; some subversively by spreading progressive ideas through art and literature, while others are far more proactive, driving revolution and exposing government secrets. The Illuminati, founded in 1776, aimed to rid Europe of the ruling aristocracy and religious control of education, politics and science. They supported the Age of Enlightenment and were accused of fueling the dissent that culminated in the French Revolution.

Since that time the term Illuminati has become a meme, giving a name to a secret network believed by conspiracy theorists to control the world. These were depicted as pranksters, working in the shadows to manipulate society. It was in this climate of pranks, memes and conspiracy theories that the hacktivist collective Anonymous were born. Their ideals of freedom from censorship and the empowering of societies against their rulers make them the spiritual successors of the Illuminati.

The kindling of the French Revolution by the Illuminati has found a modern counterpart in how Anonymous and WikiLeaks played a key role in the Arab Spring uprisings using the internet as a new weapon against dictatorships. It is the same battle fought by secret societies for a millennium but the new inquisition has shifted its focus from secret societies to wage a war on the connected communities of the internet age. This is the story of that war and how you need to be a part of it.

Continue Reading

Reviews
September 5th, 2016

REVIEW – Homo Deus by Yuval Noah Harari

Homo Deus by Yuval Noah Harari

I found Homo Deus to be quite an odd book and not quite what I was expecting. Nevertheless I really enjoyed it.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Over the past century humankind has managed to do the impossible and rein in famine, plague, and war. This may seem hard to accept, but, as Harari explains in his trademark style—thorough, yet riveting—famine, plague and war have been transformed from incomprehensible and uncontrollable forces of nature into manageable challenges. For the first time ever, more people die from eating too much than from eating too little; more people die from old age than from infectious diseases; and more people commit suicide than are killed by soldiers, terrorists and criminals put together. The average American is a thousand times more likely to die from binging at McDonalds than from being blown up by Al Qaeda.

What then will replace famine, plague, and war at the top of the human agenda? As the self-made gods of planet earth, what destinies will we set ourselves, and which quests will we undertake? Homo Deus explores the projects, dreams and nightmares that will shape the twenty-first century—from overcoming death to creating artificial life. It asks the fundamental questions: Where do we go from here? And how will we protect this fragile world from our own destructive powers? This is the next stage of evolution. This is Homo Deus. Continue Reading

Reviews
August 22nd, 2016

REVIEW – A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart

keith_stuart_a_boy_made_of_blocks

This book was just delightful. A Boy Made of Blocks follows Alex and his son Sam, who has autism, as their relationship develops through their shared love of Minecraft.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In the tradition of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls comes a warm and tender novel in which a father and his autistic son connect over the game of Minecraft.

Alex loves his family, and yet he struggles to connect with his eight-year-old autistic son, Sam. The strain has pushed his marriage to the breaking point. So Alex moves in with his merrily irresponsible best friend on the world’s most uncomfortable blow-up bed.

As Alex navigates single life, long-buried family secrets, and part-time fatherhood, his son begins playing Minecraft. Sam’s imagination blossoms and the game opens up a whole new world for father and son to share. Together, they discover that sometimes life must fall apart before you can build a better one.

Inspired by the author’s own relationship with his autistic son, A Boy Made of Blocks is a tear-jerking, funny, and, most, of all true-to-life novel about the power of difference and one very special little boy.

Continue Reading

Reviews
August 19th, 2016

REVIEW – The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 ¼ Years Old

The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 ¼ Years Old

Already a hit in its homeland of The Netherlands, The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 ¼ Years Old, is the tale of a delightful old man and his friends. I find it intriguing that we don’t know who the author actually is – all we know is that he is working on another diary. Although the book is published as fiction, I like to think that Henrik is really out there, carrying on his adventures with his friends in the brilliantly named Old But Not Dead Club.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

‘Another year and I still don’t like old people. Me? I am 83 years old.’

Hendrik Groen may be old, but he is far from dead and isn’t planning to be buried any time soon. Granted, his daily strolls are getting shorter because his legs are no longer willing and he had to visit his doctor more than he’d like. Technically speaking he is … elderly. But surely there is more to life at his age than weak tea and potted geraniums?

Hendrik sets out to write an exposé: a year in the life of his care home in Amsterdam, revealing all its ups and downs – not least his new endeavour the anarchic Old-But-Not Dead Club. And when Eefje moves in – the woman Hendrik has always longed for – he polishes his shoes (and his teeth), grooms what’s left of his hair and attempts to make something of the life he has left, with hilarious, tender and devastating consequences.

The indomitable Hendrik Groen – Holland’s unlikeliest hero – has become a cultural phenomenon in his native Netherlands and now he and his famously anonymous creator are conquering the globe. A major Dutch bestseller, The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen will not only delight older readers with its wit and relevance, but will charm and inspire those who have years to go before their own expiry date.

Continue Reading

Reviews
August 10th, 2016

REVIEW – Watching Edie by Camilla Way

Watching Edie

Watching Edie is a fast-paced, intriguing psychological thriller. I’d already heard great things about it so jumped at the opportunity to review it.

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Beautiful, creative, a little wild… Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into your life. And she had dreams back then—but it didn’t take long for her to learn that things don’t always turn out the way you want them to.

Now, at thirty-three, Edie is working as a waitress, pregnant and alone. And when she becomes overwhelmed by the needs of her new baby and sinks into a bleak despair, she thinks that there’s no one to turn to…

But someone’s been watching Edie, waiting for the chance to prove once again what a perfect friend she can be. It’s no coincidence that Heather shows up on Edie’s doorstep, just when Edie needs her the most. So much has passed between them—so much envy, longing, and betrayal. And Edie’s about to learn a new lesson: those who have hurt us deeply—or who we have hurt—never let us go, not entirely…

Continue Reading

Book Hauls
August 5th, 2016

July Book Haul!

July book haul

This month was a good month for new books!

Fiction

The Muse by Jessie Burton – I loved The Miniaturist so I’m really excited to read this. And oh my gosh, how pretty is the book? This novel follows two stories, one in London and one in Spain, linked by a mystery masterpiece. Reviews for this have been great and I can’t wait to get stuck in.

The Muse

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman – I’d heard so many good things about this book and just had to pick it up. This follows a grumpy old man called Ove and, having just finished an ARC of The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen (83 1/4 Years Old), which I loved, it sounded like the perfect follow up.

A Man Called Ove Continue Reading